Diversity and Inclusion

The University of Wisconsin–Madison Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders is committed to eliminating bias, discrimination, and systemic racism. We commit to this work in our department, on campus, and in our field to effect sustained change. We affirm our dedication to learn about racial inequities and to ensure that immediate and long-term change is embedded in every aspect of our profession—in our hiring practices, student and faculty recruitment and retention, teaching practices, and clinical training. We pledge to do our part to eliminate hatred, racism, bigotry and discrimination collectively and in community with our colleagues, nation- and world-wide. We pledge to ensure that all students, faculty, staff, visitors and clients feel welcome and valued and supported.

We believe that systemic racism must end. We acknowledge that systemic racism can and has already resulted in the unfair treatment of individuals, with outcomes that include trauma and suffering of racialized and minoritized people, including Black people, Indigenous people, and other people of color.

The mission of our department is to provide exemplary educational programs that prepare the next generation of scholars, clinicians, educators, and leaders in the fields of communication sciences and disorders; to conduct state-of-the-art basic, translational, and clinical research in the areas of speech, language, hearing, swallowing, and balance; to offer accessible, culturally competent, evidence-based clinical care for all people with disorders in communication, balance, and swallowing; to engage in outreach activities that directly benefit professional colleagues, students, and individuals and their families in the community; and to promote a welcoming and open environment where all can learn and engage.

We commit to educating and mentoring our students to become audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and researchers who serve and treat all people equally. We define diversity as the range of identities that impact and influence how people are perceived and treated and how they behave. These include but are not limited to ethnicity, race, age, gender, religion, color, physical and mental abilities, gender identity, sexual orientation, education, and values. A clear challenge in our field is the lack of diversity of our profession, where >90% of people are white and female. We further recognize that the mere presence of diversity does not mean that differences are being leveraged or seen as assets. We believe that an inclusive and engaged environment must be created to allow us to fully benefit from the strengths and talents of all staff, students and faculty. We commit to creating a climate where individuals feel a sense of belonging and being valued for who they are. We commit to an inclusive environment in which barriers to contribution and negative biases are eliminated, and people are respected and able to give their personal best. We commit to ensuring that our students, staff and faculty gain cultural competence, that is, knowledge and attitudes that result in behaviors that help individuals to interact and work effectively in cross-cultural settings and to reduce healthcare disparities.

Learn more about equity, diversity, and inclusion initiatives at UW-Madison.

Campus Resources

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Diversity Inventory

Diversity Inventory, a centralized online database of diversity initiatives: https://diversityinventory.wisc.edu/

Bias Reporting

Campus Multicultural Student Center

Campus Multicultural Student Center

The primary mission of the multicultural student center is to collaboratively strengthen and sustain an inclusive campus where all students, particularly students of color and other historically underserved students, are engaged and can realize an authentic Wisconsin experience.

Native American Center for Health Professions

Native American Center for Health Professions

Among its missions, NACHP is focused on enhancing the recruitment of Native students to UW-Madison health professional schools and programs and improving the Native health professional student experience.

STEM Diversity Network

STEM Diversity Network

While several programs on campus offer support to students, faculty and staff from diverse backgrounds, the STEM Diversity Network is a place designed to help all interested in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) careers specifically.  This network exists to aid the academic and social advancement of students (undergrad, grad, postdocs) in STEM by providing students with connections to other students, faculty, and resources available to help them succeed.

Multicultural Graduate Network

Multicultural Graduate Network

Sign up for the MGN email list by emailing join-mgnlistserv@lists.wisc.edu.

Housed within the Graduate School, the MGN is a social and networking group devoted to learning and professional development. This organization was originally created to serve the needs of graduate students of color and has recently grown to be an inclusive network for all graduate students on the UW-Madison campus.

SACNAS Student Chapter

SACNAS Student Chapter

SACNAS is a national society dedicated to advancing Hispanics/Chicanos and Native Americans in science and to promoting cultural diversity in the U.S. academic environment. All UW-Madison undergraduate and graduate students who are interested in STEM fields may join SACNAS.

Contact: Ahna Skop, faculty advisor, skop@wisc.edu

Women in Science and Engineering Leadership Institute

Women in Science and Engineering Leadership Institute

WISELI is an on-campus institute dedicated to promoting women scientists. The WISELI website hosts a useful collection of general and sexual-harassment-related information.

Graduate Women in Science

Graduate Women in Science

GWIS is a national organization that advances the participation and recognition of women in science and devoted to fostering research through grants, awards, and fellowships. The UW-Madison chapter provides a network for connecting female scientists across campus.

Learn about the GWIS graduate student representatives at http://www.gwisbeta.org/about-gwis/officers/.

LGBT Campus Center

LGBT Campus Center

This center offers several programs to support LGBT students on campus and provides training to help make classrooms and departments more inclusive. The LGBTCC staff members also organize a number of special interest groups, including one for graduate students.

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee

Committee Points of Contact

Caroline Niziolek, Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: cniziolek@wisc.edu

Kimberly Caul, M.S., CCC-SLP

Position title: Clinical Associate Professor, Speech-Language Pathologist

Email: caul@wisc.edu

Katie Christenson

Position title: Undergraduate Student Advisor

Email: kathleen.christenson@wisc.edu

Elizabeth Delsandro, M.S., CCC-SLP

Position title: Clinical Associate Professor, Speech-Language Pathologist

Email: delsandro@wisc.edu

Amy Kroll, Au.D., CCC-A

Position title: Clinical Associate Professor, Audiologist

Email: amy.kroll@wisc.edu

Kimberly Mueller, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kdmueller@wisc.edu

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

All Committee Members

Sriram Boothalingam, Ph.D., FAAA
Assistant Professor
boothalingam@wisc.edu
Emily Lorang
Student (PhD)
emily.wagner@wisc.edu
Melanie Buhr-Lawler, Au.D., CCC-A
Clinical Professor, Audiologist
melanie.buhr@wisc.edu
Janine Mathee
Student (PhD)
mathee@wisc.edu
Nicole Burchardt
Student (SLP)
nburchardt@wisc.edu
Timothy McCarty
Department Administrator
timothy.mccarty@wisc.edu
Kimberly Caul, M.S., CCC-SLP
Clinical Associate Professor, Speech-Language Pathologist
caul@wisc.edu
Emma McGrath Lundstrom
Student (AuD)
eemcgrath@wisc.edu
Katie Christenson
Undergraduate Student Advisor
kathleen.christenson@wisc.edu
Kimberly Mueller, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor
kdmueller@wisc.edu
Michelle Ciucci, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Associate Professor
ciucci@surgery.wisc.edu
Anne Neveu
Student (PhD)
aneveu@wisc.edu
Tenzin Dasal Tarak
Student (AuD)
dasal@wisc.edu
Caroline Niziolek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
cniziolek@wisc.edu
Elizabeth Delsandro, M.S., CCC-SLP
Clinical Associate Professor, Speech-Language Pathologist
delsandro@wisc.edu
Kathryn Prescott
Student (PhD)
kprescott@wisc.edu
Elizabeth Evans
Student (SLP)
eevans23@wisc.edu
Marisa Pyka
Student (AuD)
marisa.pyka@wisc.edu
Amy Hartman, Au.D., CCC-A
Clinical Professor, Audiologist
amy.hartman@wisc.edu
Lexi Rozycki
Student (AuD)
arozycki@wisc.edu
Felicia Herlevi
Student (AuD)
herlevi@wisc.edu
Courtney Seidel, M.S., CCC-SLP
Clinical Associate Professor, Speech-Language Pathologist
cseidel3@wisc.edu
Annie Hinker
Student (SLP)
hinker@wisc.edu
Lukas Suveg
Student (PhD)
lsuveg@wisc.edu
Rhonda Jacobs
Program Assistant
rhonda.jacobs@wisc.edu
Amanda Talbert
Graduate Studies Coordinator
atalbert@wisc.edu
Amy Kroll, Au.D., CCC-A
Clinical Associate Professor, Audiologist
amy.kroll@wisc.edu
Clare Tolerico
Student (undergrad)
tolerico@wisc.edu
Heather Krug, M.A., CCC-SLP
Clinical Associate Professor, Speech-Language Pathologist
heather.krug@wisc.edu
Frances Violante
Student (undergrad)
fviolante@wisc.edu
Caroline Larson
Student (PhD)
calarson5@wisc.edu
Rebecca Willer
Student (SLP)
rawiller@wisc.edu
Emma Libersky
Student (PhD)
libersky@wisc.edu
Daphne Wang
Student (SLP)
dwang333@wisc.edu
Ruth Litovsky, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair
ruth.litovsky@wisc.edu
Julia Zacher
Student (undergrad)
jzacher@wisc.edu